Another artistic template that I created is called the Onion Template because of all the layered placeholders. I used this template to create the set below.


I drew this up in Illustrator to give me an idea of how I wanted to lay it out and to make sure I had areas where one could actually access the placeholders. The template is below.

Layer 1 of the template contains one large square and is shown within the blue box. To access this placeholder, drop an image in any of the yellow boxes.

Layer 2 of the template contains 3 columns of rectangles which are within the blue boxes. To access these placeholders, drop an image into the available areas within the yellow boxes.

Layer 3 of the template contains 3 rows of rectangles which are within the blue boxes. To access these placeholders, drop an image into the available areas within the yellow boxes.

Layer 4 of the template is the top layer and contains 9 squares. Drop your image anywhere within the blue boxes.

Finally, I lied about Layer 1 being the lowest layer. If you don’t like the black background, I have provided a placeholder (the blue box) that you can use to either cover it or to add a frame. Just drop your item anywhere within the yellow designated area.

The way I created the set at the beginning of this article is as follows:

In the Layer 1 square I placed this image:

On Layer 2 in the left column I placed this image:

Only Layer 3 in the top row I placed this image:

Also on Layer 3, but in the bottom row, I placed this image:

On Layer 4 in the left-top square I placed this image:

All but the first image have transparent backgrounds; the images on Layers 2 and 3 also have gradient backgrounds (full opacity to transparent). The first time I published this, it looked like hell and required a lot of tweaking. This is where a “Preview” of a template set would be quite helpful.

Please feel free to share your sets created with this template. And, as always, comments and questions are more than welcome.